The classic steriotype for college students is that they stay up all night craming for a test they have and then they bairly get up earliey enough to make it to the test.

I can admit that their were quite a few times last semester where I refused to get out of bed until I absolutly had to, and that usually left me just enough time to put something that wasn’t pajamas on and run out the door praying that I had everything I needed in my back pack. Now, I never pulled an all nighter, but I also didn’t go to bed as early as I would have liked, thus the desire to sleep in. While I love snuggling in the blankets as long as possible, I was much more productive on the days where I went to bed at a descent time the previous night, and woke up earlier so that I had a decent amout of time before my first class. So this semester I created a schedule that I plan to stick to in hopes to make the most of my days and do the best I possibly can in my classes. So here are my thoughts on the perfect morning routine for a college student:

  1. As a Christian my first order of business is my daily devotions. I’m currently making my way threw Psalms. I use a Bible app on my phone, which also happens to be my alarm clock so I start reading as soon as I open my eyes and turn off my alarm. This is the best way for me, personally, to gaurente that I get my devos in.
  2. My second order of business is to get ready to leave my dorm and head over to the academic buildings. After finding an outfit that will work for all of my classes, (as a theatre major I have a l dance and acting classes that require clothing appropriate for the active) I check that everything I need is in my backpack, which I usually have packed the night before. Check out this post to see my list of back pack necessities. 🎒
  3. After I’ve determined that I have everything I might need I head over to the Commons for breakfast. (Or if I’m feeling lazy/anti social I make oatmeal in my dorm.😉)
  4. Then, once I’ve finished breakfast I’m either practicing my voice and piano songs or I’m looking over my notes before I go to my first class of the day.

This is how I get a jumpstart on my productivity in the mornings. I find that if I go to bed at a descent time, get a full 8 hours of sleep, and start being productive right away it has a positive effect on my productivity levels for the rest of the day.

 

One last tip I have: I keep my schedule very similar over the weekend. This makes Monday’s a whole lot less painful. On the weekends I typicaly eat breakfast in my dorm and use the day to work on papers, do laundry and cleaning, and force myself to take a break and have some fun that doesn’t involve Netflix. Currently this means reading threw an escitology study, painting, or reading the work of Victor Hugo and Walt Whitman. However, Netflix does eventually make its way into my day. 😏 💻

Leave a Reply

