Making the Dean’s List {as a freshman}

Did you know that most college freshman actually lower their GPA during their first semester? Yeah, they stressed this during my orientation weekend so that we would all strive for good grades. When I heard this I vowed to myself that I would not lower my GPA, and in fact, I would raise it. So here’s how I not only maintained my GPA from high school, but actually raised it and made the deans list in my first semester of my freshman year.

  1. I Studied. A lot. It’s not just about studying though, it’s how you study. It’s important to study the right way otherwise it’s just gonna be a lot of wasted time. It’s important to put away all distractions (silence your phone and do not watch Netflix) and find a way to motivate yourself. Maybe reward yourself with some candy when you make it threw a certain number of pages or questions. Or you could mark where you are and where you need to be.
  2. Make healthy choices! There are four healthy choices you need to make. 1. Get good sleep. 2. Eat! Yes, eat. I’ve made the mistake of skipping breakfast and then not being able to eat for 5 hours because I had back to back classes. It’s a lot harder to concentrate when your hungry. 3. Eat healthy foods. You need to eat, but you need to eat healthy food. 4. Exercise! Going for a run/walk or joining a group exercise class like yoga or kickboxing can help you blow off steam and/or relax.
  3. Take. A. Break. It’s important to make a little “me time” for yourself. Studying 24/7 without any breaks can burn you out and make the studying less effective.
  4. Have goals and strive for them! Setting goals for yourself is a great way to keep motivated. At the beginning of the semester I set a goal of making the deans list. In order to do that I needed to get a 3.5 GPA. I finished the semester with a 3.6 GPA.
  5. Keep track of your grades.

Some of these things may not seem like they’re related to studying, (like the “healthy choices” section) but they are. But I think the most important thing for you to remember is that you are not a number. Yes, grades are important, but if you don’t get an A in your hardest class you are not a failure. Even if you don’t get an A in your easiest class, you area till not a failure. Good luck you guys, and I hope your semester goes well!

Leave a Reply

